Hottest days since 1878

Daily Central England Temperatures

For a bit of fun I thought that I would graph the hottest days in the daily Central England Temperature [CET] series since 1878. My graph is a copy of one that I saw on the Met Office web site, so it’s not particularly unique. As you can see the hottest day in Central England is tied between the 3 August 1990 and the 3rd July 1976 with a composite maximum of 33.2°C. The colour of the bars indicate that seven of the top fifty warmest days have occurred since 2001, in fact last month’s maximum of 30.9°C (19 July 2016) has now become the 22nd hottest day in the last 138 years.

I’m not that satisfied with the graph though as it fails to highlight clearly in which twenty year period the extreme occurred, even though I’ve added a colour code for each bar that corresponds to the specific twenty year period that it occurred. It maybe the colours that I’ve chosen are wrong, but it might also be the fact there is very little difference between each extreme record. I also realise that the sort needs to be a little more sophisticated, so that records with equal maximum temperatures are also sorted a second time on their means so that the day with the higher mean is also ranked higher. So I may revisit this application to fix both that and also to add extra functionality to filter on warmest day by month and season, as well as year.

About xmetman

I am an exmetman who is passionate about all things to do with weather and climate. I have no axe to grind, and am continually upsetting people on both sides of the global warming debate with the articles that I publish, hell, I'm even banned from commenting on the Met Office's own blog! What I do fight for is the freeing up of climate, observational and forecast data collected and created on our behalf by the Meteorological Office.
This entry was posted in Central England Temperatures, Heatwave, Temperature. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hottest days since 1878

  1. Pingback: Warmest daily anomalies since 1878 – xmetman

Leave a Reply

