Winter 2016-17

winter-anomaly-charts

Winter mean temperature anomaly maps courtesy of the Met Office

It’s the last day of what people are now calling ‘meteorological’ autumn, so I thought I would put some code together to display daily Central England Temperature [CET] series for any season as a grid of weekly deciles, along with the corresponding mean temperature and anomaly. I did this so that I could take a closer look at winters in the series since 1772, and rather surprisingly I found no winter has been consistently cold throughout the 13 weekly temperatures deciles (1), although the winter of 1794-95 did come close with 12 out of 13 decile 1 weeks. Another surprise, was that the winter of 1978-79 tied with both 1946-47 and 1962-63 with 10 weeks of decile 1 mean temperatures. One thing that I always seem to be being reminded of is how late the winter of 1946-47 started, and if you look closely the first fours weeks of the winter were indeed average or mild. The code for this has been more than a little awkward to get right, mainly because I’ve added functionality to allow for meteorological seasons and also output the results as quintiles as well as deciles.

daily-central-england-temperature-winter

It’s seems a long time since the last cold winter in 2009-10, and the weekly deciles since the late 1980’s have been predominantly of the mild 3 variety. The mildest winter that I can see from my results looks to be 1989-90 with 12 weeks of decile 3, followed by 2013-14 with 10 weeks of decile 3, in fact 9 out of the top 10 mildest (astronomical) winters as far as I can see have occurred in the last 30 years if you rank winters by their weekly mean temperature deciles.

daily-central-england-temperature-winter

About xmetman

I am an exmetman who is passionate about all things to do with weather and climate. I have no axe to grind, and am continually upsetting people on both sides of the global warming debate with the articles that I publish, hell, I'm even banned from commenting on the Met Office's own blog! What I do fight for is the freeing up of climate, observational and forecast data collected and created on our behalf by the Meteorological Office.
This entry was posted in Central England Temperatures, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

