Rather mild January 2017 in Central England

Figure 1 – Data courtesy of the Met Office

A bit of a late look back at the CET values for January 2017, which was not a particular exciting month in Central England, with a mean temperature of 3.95°C, and mean anomaly that was +0.13°C higher than the 1961-1990 long-term average. Although the first half of the month was very mild, a cold anticyclonic spell from the 18th to the 30th, brought the mean temperature for the month back closer to average. Because the Central England region lies further north than the southeast of England, it escaped the worst of the frosts that occurred there. Just five of the last twenty January’s have been colder than average.

Figure 2 – Data courtesy of the Met Office

Figure 3 – Data courtesy of the Met Office

Corrigendum

If there are any Guardian comment readers still here at this point, I must confess that I did screw up with the comment saying that the January CET value was wrong, it was correct, well I may have rounded it down to 3.9°C, but it wasn’t the 4.45°C that I said it was but actually 3.95°C. I hadn’t downloaded the latest verified daily values for the month, and so the value that I calculated was still based on the estimates from the Met Office. The reason why I say the January value is +0.13°C above average and the article in the Guardian says it’s -0.2°C below the average, is that I used the 1861-1990 long-term average and the article quotes the 1981-2010 long-term average. 

I’m still sticking to my guns about the other comments I made about the January sunshine though, but as I said the statistics used to produce the graphic may well have been calculated from individual station rather than gridded data. If you want to download the data and work out your own anomalies please feel free to do so.

Figure 4 – Data courtesy of the Met Office

I can’t add to the comment (or delete it for that matter) so this will have to suffice as an apology for the moment.

About xmetman

I am an exmetman who is passionate about all things to do with weather and climate. I have no axe to grind, and am continually upsetting people on both sides of the global warming debate with the articles that I publish, hell, I'm even banned from commenting on the Met Office's own blog! What I do fight for is the freeing up of climate, observational and forecast data collected and created on our behalf by the Meteorological Office.
This entry was posted in Central England Temperatures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rather mild January 2017 in Central England

  1. wansteadmeteo says:

    One of those months where the CET is not very representative of London. It was 1.8C below average here which borders the cold / rather cold category. Interestingly it was also a tad colder than the snowy January 2013 but because the air flow was stable there was only a few hours of snow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

