A new way of looking at Central England Temperatures

Figure 1 – Data courtesy of the Met Office

Ever wondered what looking at the CET for every week in your life would look like? Well, the heat map above (fig 1) does just that, it looks very formidable at first glance, but if you take a closer look it’s just full of information about temperatures of England since 1958. Each cell represents the mean temperature anomaly for each of the fifty-two weeks in a year, so each row represents a single year. I think splitting the year into weeks means is an excellent way of perusing the CET series, you can easily pick out the exceptionally cold or warm period since the daily CET started back in 1772, if you used a longer period such as a month, these shorter spells wouldn’t be visible. The application can display heat maps of anomalies (fig 1) or mean temperatures (fig 2), as well as extreme high maximums or low minimums (fig 3).

Figure 2 – Data courtesy of the Met Office

Figure 3 – Data courtesy of the Met Office

It was easy enough to add some extra code to find the extreme warmest and coldest week from all years in the series and highlight them in the grid (fig 4).

Figure 4 – Data courtesy of the Met Office

It also added functionality to display terciles, quintiles and centiles (fig 5), but they don’t like quite yet, because I don’t think I’ve perfected the colours I use in displaying them. Anyway, I’m sure someone will let me know what I’m doing wrong. The only trouble is with the size of these heat maps, is that I can only display them back to 1958, so until I get that 27″ monitor I keep promising myself, an even bigger heat map will have to wait.

Figure 5 – Data courtesy of the Met Office

 

About xmetman

I am an exmetman who is passionate about all things to do with weather and climate. I have no axe to grind, and am continually upsetting people on both sides of the global warming debate with the articles that I publish, hell, I'm even banned from commenting on the Met Office's own blog! What I do fight for is the freeing up of climate, observational and forecast data collected and created on our behalf by the Meteorological Office.
This entry was posted in Central England Temperatures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

